Conventional Beams


The working group analyses the requirements and provides support for the experiments attributed to the working group, including design of secondary beam lines and integration in the existing SPS and PS experimental areas, in view of the submission of the proposals to the relevant committees. Similar support will be also provided for the study on novel neutrino beam lines. The working group evaluates the feasibility, compatibility, infrastructure needs, approximate costs and resource requirements from CERN and collects all this information for the PBC-A&T Committee.

The following experiments are followed by the PBC: NA64µ/h, NA60++, NA62 high intensity (x4)/KLEVER, SHADOWS, AMBER (RF-separated beams), ENUBET and NuTAG. Representatives from experiments already followed-up by the SPSC using the same areas and/or requiring shared physics studies will be part of the working group.


Deliverables of the working group include in particular a conceptual beamline design for the high intensity operation of NA62/KLEVER and integration of SHADOWS, a conceptual design of a beam line providing RF separated hadron beams with increased purity for AMBER, and an integration concept for the NA60++ experiment in EHN1.

Key Documents

Working Group Core Members

Conveners: Markus Brugger, Johannes Bernhard

Core Members: Dipanwita Banerjee, Augusto Ceccucci (SHADOWS), Nikos Charitonidis, Paolo Crivelli (NA64), Oleg Denisov (AMBER), Babette Döbrich (NA62 Beam Dump), Jan Friedrich (AMBER), Marek Gazdzicki (NA61), Lau Gatignon, Alexander Gerbershagen, Sergei Gninenko (NA64), Yacine Kadi, Seweryn Kowalski (NA61), Gaia Lanfranchi (FIPS/BSM), Cristina Lazzeroni (NA62 High intensity), Andrea Longhin (ENUBET), Clara Matteuzzi (MuonE), Matthew Moulson (KLEVER), Mathieu Perrin-Terrin (NuTAG), Gunar Schnell (QCD Physics WG), Enrico Scomparin (NA60++), Tommaso Spadaro (NA62 Beam Dump), Francesco Terranova (ENUBET), Gianluca Usai (NA60++), Graziano Venanzoni (MuonE).

Next Meeting